Scott Brown and Celtic incidents against Kilmarnock analysed – Daily Record

Scott Brown and Celtic incidents against Kilmarnock analysed – Daily Record

Even a routine 4-0 win brings its fair share of controversy in the world of Scottish football.

Tuesday night saw Celtic get back to winning ways with a comfortable win over Kilmarnock at Rugby Park.

But social media was ablaze with calls for action on captain Scott Brown after an apparent elbow in the first half.

Rangers manager Steven Gerrard had earlier called for consistency in the disciplinary process, and the club’s official Twitter account underlined that with a thinly-veiled reference to the incident.

Some fans also felt Celtic were fortunate to be awarded a penalty after the break, while there were suspicions of offside over Odsonne Edouard’s second goal.

Was the contention justified? We’ve taken a look at the major incidents.

Brown vs Tshibola

One clear moment of controversy came in the first half when Brown caught Aaron Tshibola with an elbow.

There’s no question that the Celtic captain caught his opponent but the question of a red card or suspension comes down to intent.

(Image: SNS Group)

Law 12 of the IFAB rules states that “a player who, when not challenging for the ball, deliberately strikes an opponent or any other person on the head or face with the hand or arm, is guilty of violent conduct unless the force used was negligible”.

While intent is a hard thing to prove, what is certainly true is that Brown was looking the other way and offered an apology immediately.

Clancy took no action so either didn’t see the incident or deemed the clash to have been accidental.

For Brown to face retrospective action for violent conduct the SFA would have to charge that he deliberately elbowed Tshibola.

Verdict: No red card

Burke ‘goal’

 

(Image: SNS Group)

 

Kilmarnock thought they’d scored when Chris Burke headed goalward at the back post.

The ball was stopped by Scott Bain but the hosts felt that the ball had crossed the line before the Celtic goalkeeper pushed it back out.

With no goalline technology in the Scottish Premiership this one is hard to judge.

The rules state that the whole ball must be over the line for a goal to be given and there’s no conclusive angle to prove that it was.

It was certainly close but this was a difficult one for the officials.

Verdict: Too close to call

Penalty incident

(Image: SNS Group)

Another contentious moment was the penalty given to Celtic in the second half as Albian Ajeti went down.

Killie goalkeeper Colin Doyle was furious as a spot-kick was awarded and Odsonne Edouard stepped up to convert.

It was certainly a soft award as the Swiss international clearly bought it – but it’s difficult to argue it was incorrect.

The laws of the game include a sanction for a “trip or attempted trip” and state that “if an offence involves contact” then a penalty or free-kick should be given.

While there was not much contact Doyle did appear to catch Ajeti’s ankle with his arm.

As well as the rule there are three grades of sanction for an offence.

If it’s deemed to be “careless” then no further action should be taken, a “reckless” challenge earns a booking and one with “excessive force” should be punished with a red card.

A red card is also the sanction if denying a goalscoring opportunity when not making an attempt to play the ball but Ajeti was moving away from goal at the time of the incident.

Given that Doyle was not booked it seems Clancy deemed his challenge to be careless, defined as “when a player shows a lack of attention or consideration when making a challenge or acts without precaution”.

Given the on-loan Hearts man charged out of his goal and challenged for the ball while Ajeti was not in a position to score he can’t have too many complaints.

Verdict: Soft, but a penalty

Edouard offside?

(Image: SNS Group)

This does appear to be one that the officials got wrong.

Without the benefit of VAR and those lines on the pitch everyone loves, it’s not possible to say for certain but with the naked eye this appears to have been the wrong call.

Verdict: Offside

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *