Kemar Roofe Rangers tackle receives loses control verdict as Sportscene pair in unity over Ibrox cruncher – Daily Record

Rangers striker Kemar Roofe has been told he’s “very fortunate” not to have received a straight red for his full-blooded tackle on St Johnstone midfielder Murray Davidson.

The Englishman was issued a yellow by referee David Munro during the first half of his side’s 1-0 win over the Saints that pushes them even closer to the Premiership title.

But Roofe – replacing suspended Alfredo Morelos – faced a momentary sweat before the whistler cautioned him while Davidson was left writhing in agony.

The 28-year-old appeared to leave the ground and his studs caught his opponent who was forced off shortly after the incident.

St Johnstone manager Callum Davidson gave a “no malice” verdict and while Scotland women’s manager Shelley Kerr agrees she also thinks Munro should have brandished a red.

Speaking on Sportsound, she said: “When you watch it live it doesn’t look too much in it but when you see it (again)I think he catches him and it’s a red card.

“I think he’s trying to protect, I think he is trying to shield the ball, I think they key thing here is he does have a wee bit of a lunge.

“I don’t think there is any intent in it, I really don’t, I think his first thought is try and win the ball and protect the ball.

“But it turns out to be a wee bit reckless.”

And James McFadden also believes the former Leeds man wasn’t trying to hurt Davidson but believes the “lunge” that came before the tackle could have led to a harsher punishment.

He added: “I think Kemar Roofe, initially, when he takes a bad touch he’s going to try and put his body between the ball and Murray Davidson.

“But when he takes that extra lunge, for me, he loses control and you can see the damage it has on Murray Davidson’s leg.

“I don’t think he meant to go in and hurt him but I felt as if he lost control and he is very fortunate to stay on the pitch because the referee was right in front of him”

Even though Kerr believes it was a red, she reckons it’s case closed because Munro had such a good view of the incident.

She added: “You can even see by his reaction, he’s more frustrated with his touch, I don’t think he’s realised it’s been a bad challenge.

“I definitely don’t think there’s been any intent. I just think it has turned out to be a bit of a lunge because he’s had a bad touch, tries to protect the ball, tries to get his body in there, it didn’t look great.

“I wouldn’t (expect a ban) but you don’t know.

“I don’t think there any intent and he got a yellow card at the time.

McFadden added: “It’s right in front of the referee, who I think can see the whole incident.

“So I would expect he feels it is dealt with, we are getting the chance to slow it down and see that little extra lunge but I would be surprised if there is any retrospective action.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *